Electric Guitar W/ Garageband

Is there a way to play the electric guitar like an ACTUAL guitar using garageband? When i connect the instrument 1, i don’t have the option of standard guitar tuning within the garageband app so it cannot be played like a guitar and the Artiphon app itself offers no guitar with any distortion. I’m new to both garageband and the I1, is this possible and i’m doing something wrong? or is that not an option? and if that isn’t an option can anyone point me in the direction of an app that will?

No problem – tuning is handled by the Artiphon app and/or presets, not by GarageBand, so all you need to do is to set up the right sound in GB. There are actually two ways to do this:

1. Using GarageBand guitar sounds. In the Tracks tab, swipe to Guitar and under the More Sounds button you’ll find Hard Rock. Open this and you’ll be able to play the sound with the I1 with the preset of your choice (including the built-in guitar). There’s a rudimentary Overdrive pedal you can turn on as well if desired.

2. Using the Artiphon app sounds. (This assumes you’re on iOS; there are no built-in sounds in the desktop app.) In GarageBand under the Tracks tab swipe to Audio Recorder, and under the IN icon of a plug at top right select Inter-App Audio, and under Instrument select the Instrument 1 icon. Then back in the main Audio Recorder view select the Studio tab and tap whatever the current icon is in the central panel to bring up the built-in effects. You can try out various of these, but in the first instance I’d recommend Crunchy Filter, which is under Producer Effects.