I1 and orchestral vsts

Hi,

I’m seriously considering purchasing an Instrument 1. I’m a relative newbie with electronic music, but a lifelong classical guitar player. So while I’m picking up keyboard basics with my MIDI keyboard, I’m feeling the allure of a familiar fretboard type of input. And the I1’s wide fretboard/neck doesn’t scare me, that being the default for classical guitar anyway.

I’m wondering about I1 users’ perspectives on using it to compose or arrange orchestral, chamber music, or film scores. Are there inherent advantages of the I1’s various modes for these types of applications? Traditional strings, woodwinds, brass, percussion and so forth?

Thanks!

bob

Interesting question. My own experience of orchestral composition is limited to tinkering in Orb Composer (i.e. completely faking it), but for the basic process of assembling an arrangement in a DAW the I1 does have one very striking advantage over other controllers: you can have it slung round your neck and enter notes by tapping with your left hand while mousing with your right (or vice-versa for lefties), instead of having to go back and forth and reach across a bloody great keyboard between you and the computer. So the tap guitar mode is definitely a plus; I’m not sure other modes would see anything like as much use.

MPE capability is obviously a key feature for the performance of solo strings and wind, but I’m not sure it has a huge role in composition and arranging, though if you have solo lines they’ll definitely sound better played in in multichannel fretted tap mode than they ever will on a keyboard (even an MPE-capable one like a Seaboard).

Thanks for weighing, Nick. Your point about the physical convenience of slinging the thing is something I can relate to.